All News

Daily Bridge in New Zealand

 

Play Low, Joe!

For Junior, Intermediate and Novice players…and others! It’s Fri yay 2.pngDay!

Remember that basic rule: second player plays low…except when they do not! Yes, there are exceptions to about every rule and guideline in bridge. Is today’s deal one of those exceptions?

Bridge in NZ.png nz map.jpg

West Deals
Both Vul

Spade-small

Q 9 6 5

Heart-small

A

Diamond-small

J 4 2

Club-small

A J 9 7 3

Spade-small

K 10 8 7 4

Heart-small

J 7 6 4

Diamond-small

7

Club-small

K Q 4

 

N

W

 

E

S

   

 

West

North

East

South

you

dummy

   

Pass

1 Club-small

Pass

1 Heart-small

Pass

1 Spade-small

Pass

2 Diamond-small

Pass

3 Club-small

Pass

3 NT

All pass

 

 

               

 

 

 

 


After North showed their two suits, South bid 2Diamond-small, fourth suit forcing, looking for more information from their partner. With no diamond hold (2Diamond-small neither promised nor denied a hold in that suit), and no support for hearts, North rebid their club suit. South ended the auction in 3NT.

With no liking for diamonds, you, West, led Spade-small7 (4TH highest). Your partner’s Spade-smallA won trick 1 and they returned Spade-small10, South playing first Spade-small3   and then Spade-smallJ. You won Spade-smallA but saw it would be dangerous continuing that suit as if South finessed, they would score 2 further spade tricks. So, you exited, safely, with Heart-small4. East played Heart-small3, low being they liked that suit.

Declarer played a diamond to their ace and then Club-small2 ….and you played?

  • ·       If you played Club-smallQ, which club would South play from dummy?
  • ·       If you played Club-small4 , which card would they play from dummy?
  • ·       What is a very significant card you cannot see in your hand or dummy?
  • ·       Did you hesitate before playing your club, whichever one it was?

Let’s see all 4 hands:

West Deals
Both Vul

Spade-small

Q 9 6 5

Heart-small

A

Diamond-small

J 4 2

Club-small

A J 9 7 3

Spade-small

K 10 8 7 4

Heart-small

J 7 6 4

Diamond-small

7

Club-small

K Q 4

 

N

W

 

E

S

 

Spade-small

A 2

Heart-small

Q 8 3

Diamond-small

9 8 6 5 3

Club-small

10 8 6

 

Spade-small

J 3

Heart-small

K 10 9 5 2

Diamond-small

A K Q 10

Club-small

5 2

 

West

North

East

South

you

dummy

   

Pass

1 Club-small

Pass

1 Heart-small

Pass

1 Spade-small

Pass

2 Diamond-small

Pass

3 Club-small

Pass

3 NT

All pass

 

 

 

The situation looked a bit grim from your point of view. If you had played Club-smallQ, South would likely have let you win the trick. With spades still an unwise option, all you could do was play a second heart and hope.

East’s Heart-smallQ would draw Heart-smallK from South and South would play a second club, putting in Club-smallJ. They would very soon have 4 club  tricks, which along with 4 diamond tricks and Heart-smallAK (they did not need Spade-smallQ) would be 10 tricks made, a good result for North-South.

The answer to the second question is less clear. They might insert Club-smallJ and would then make the same 10 tricks. Yet, they might insert Club-small9 and suddenly it would not be so rosy for South who had already lost 2 spade tricks. If they lost 2 club tricks as well, they would soon be one down as you West would be able to play the then high Heart-smallJ when in with one of your high clubs. (Declarer could at this point still come to 9 tricks by setting up a third heart trick..Spade-smallQ, 3 hearts, 4 diamonds Club-smallA...but they might not!)

Which club would South play had West played their low club? We do not know. Club-smallJ is the correct card on the actual lay-out. Club-small9 is correct if you, West, held Club-small10 and at least one of the top clubs. KQx is one holding. KTx or QTx are 2 different holdings for the West hand. South may well have played Club-small9 on the first round. They may not come to 9 tricks.

The rule about covering honours, or in this case, securing a club trick by playing a high one, is that you play your high card when in doing so, it would or could benefit your side. Here, at best it would make no difference (if South was about to insert Club-smallJ on the first round). Otherwise, you will have just helped the declarer.

So, this is no exception to the rule/guideline: “second hand plays low.”

What is the key card you could not see? Club-small10. If that was in declarer’s hand, there is little you could do to promote a second club trick for your side. Chances are it is not in declarer’s hand as they may have played it rather than a low club on the first round of the suit.

Boy Scouts’ Motto

That brings us to the fourth question. When South first saw dummy, they should be doing some thinking. Certainly, they will when they won the Heart-smallA at trick 3. While they were thinking, so should you as a defender. Look at the whole of dummy and in particular that club suit. A couple of questions which you should have asked yourself.

If South leads a low club, which club will you play?

If South leads Club-small10, which club will you play?

If you are prepared, then you know which club to play when a club is played, as surely will happen at some point very soon.

Be prepared 3.png

Second player plays low, Jo
As you just do not know.
From dummy they too might play low
And down will the contract go. “

Richard Solomon  
p.s. It is not relevant to this discussion that South could have come to 9 tricks by setting up a third heart trick and not touching clubs. They did not see that option and did play on clubs. Of the 9 declarers who played 3NT in an Open tournament, only 3 made their contract. 

 

Go Back View All News Items

Our Sponsors