





Minutes

Regional Committee Meeting held on: Friday 1 September 2017 19:30 via Skype.

Present:

Rona Driscoll (Chair Person), Anna Kalma, Mike Neels, Ian Moore, Jan Spaans (Secretary/Treasurer).

Apologies: Karen Martelletti.

Welcome

Rona welcomed all to the meeting.

Minutes of previous meeting

The minutes of the previous meeting held on Friday 4 August 2017 were confirmed.

Rona/lan.

Matters arising from previous meeting: Nil.

Correspondence In:

As distributed via email.

Correspondence Out: Nil.

Financial report:

Financial position per 31 August 2017

Balance	\$28,592.40
	\$28,592.40
Term Deposit with NZB	\$13,449.00
BNZ Savings Account	\$8,945.04
BNZ Cheque Account	\$6,198.36

Please note that the BNZ cheque account balance includes the Thames Festival account, from which the engraving bill has vet to be paid.

Term Deposit status: #14. \$7539.13 @ 3.15% P/A matures 16 June 2018 #06. \$5909.87 @ 3.00% P/A matures 1 October 2017

Waikato Bays Regional Bridge Committee - Payments to be approved

То	Da	te •	Amount	Date approved
J Spaans Fest 2018 envel	25	Aug	\$109.00	01 Sep 2017
TGA BC Fest 2018 Posters	25	Aug	\$15.90	01 Sep 2017
J Spaans Courier Auditor	25	Aug	\$13.00	01 Sep 2017
J Spaans Web Site	25	Aug	\$342.00	01 Sep 2017
Pub Charity partly refund	25	Aug	\$287.83	01 Sep 2017
S&J Simpson Prize Rubber	29	Aug	\$200.00	01 Sep 2017
NZB 3 x Congress Sponsor	8	Sept	\$521.73	01 Sep 2017
Ian Moore Open Trophy	8	Sept	\$24.00	01 Sep 2017
TOTAL			\$1,513.46	

That the financial report is accepted and that the payment totaling \$ 1513.46 be approved for payment. Jan/lan

Regional Conference – Matamata Bridge Club – Sunday 24 September 10:00

Agenda finalized.

NZ Bridge initiative – Regional Bridge Mates

As agreed by all via email previous to the meeting, we are committing \$3500.00 over two years to support this initiative.

Junior League – Te Awamutu – Sunday 15 October

Anna will be present to calculate the final ladder and will be representing us to hand out the prizes.

Intermediate League – Cambridge – Sunday 29 October

Prize giving will be done after our annual face to face meeting in Cambridge.

Sponsorship to Congress

We received 12 self-nominations and 1 club nomination. The lucky winners who will be sponsored for \$200.00 each to play in Congress this year are: Sharon Barton (Taupo), Tim Rigter (Te Aroha), Lauren Lehndorf (Taupo).

WB Rubber Bridge Winners

Like last year, Jo and Sam Simpson of the Tauranga Club won the WB competition and will be representing us in the National Play Off during Congress.

Waikato Interclub Teams, Bay Teams, Grade Trophy Teams player eligibility

This is not completely clear in the Policy Manual. After much discussion, we agreed that, in principle, players may only represent one club per calendar year. Players may not play in both the Waikato Interclub Teams and the Bay Teams in the same calendar year. Players may not represent a different club for the Grade Finals than they played for in the Waikato or Bay Teams unless they seek dispensation from the regional committee.

Rona and Ray will draft something for the policy manual and bring it to the next meeting for approval

Faded Junior Teams Grade Trophy

That the state of the trophy is not pristine was agreed by all, but is part of the tradition, therefore we will not replace it.

Meeting closed at 20:29 hrs.

Next meeting: Sunday 29 October 2017 @ The Stables, Cambridge 12:30.

Minutes confirmed by Name (printed): Rona Driscoll

Role: Chairperson

Londiscon

29-10-2017

Date: