Helman Prize winners

In 1999, Rabbi Leonard Helman, an American lawyer and prominent bridge enthusiast and philanthopist, donated $us 5,000 to 

New Zealand Bridge to establish the Leonard A Helman Prize which is awarded to the two youth players earning the most masterpoints 

in NZ Bridge events in a calendar year. No individual can win the Award more than once.

(note: Rabbi Helman was a regular supporter of the Master Solvers Club feature in NZ Bridge Magazine). 

The following were the Award winners:

Year                           Awarded at Congress

1999                           2000                                               Ashley Bach                    Jillian Hay

2000                           2001                                               Jenna Gibbons                Greg Lim

2001                           2002                                                Mike Dollan                     Christiaan Prent 

2002                           2003                                                Michelle Murphy              Sharon Ladyman

2003                           2004                                                 Fraser Rew                     Jeremy Kennard 

2004                           2005                                                 Michael Whibley              Blair Fisher

2005                           2006                                                 John Whyte                      Nick Fung

2006                           2007                                                 James Coutts                   Susan Humphries

2007                           2008                                                 Tyrel Glass                       Nick Bailey

2008                           2009                                                 Liam Milne                       Susan Humphries

2009                           2010                                                 Nick Jacob                       David Skipper


(information provided by Richard Solomon March 2024)



Our Sponsors
  • Tauranga City Council
  • tourismbop.jpeg
  • TECT.jpg
  • NZB Foundation