Youth Awards


In 1999, Rabbi Helman, an American lawyer and prominent bridge enthusiast and philanthropist, donated US$5,000 to establish the Leonard A. Helman Prize which is awarded to the two youth players earning the most masterpoints in New Zealand Association events in a calendar year.

The awards are presented at the National Bridge Congress in Hamilton.

To be considered for this award players must be on the NZ Bridge Youth Database, so they can be identified as eligible.

NZ Bridge is very grateful to Rabbi Helman for this gift to its youth players and will use this as a basis to build and promote youth bridge in New Zealand.


Jean Peche Award Policy as at 7 May 2010.

Background (Updated 24/11/2010)
Mr George Peche a New Zealander and a Journalist who relocated to Ireland sometime prior to 1976. He donated some money to New Zealand Bridge to further New Zealand Youth Bridge. The Award is named after his wife Jean.

Recent Past Winners

2010  Tyrel Glass
  Nick Jacob and Liam Milne
  Nick Bailey
  Susan Humphries
Not awarded
  Michael Whibley

Eligibility Criteria

  • Players aged 21 or under as at January 1 st of the Calendar Year to which the Award relates
  • Nomination of Candidates must be made by Regional Committees and / or Clubs by 31 st March and relate to the previous Calendar Year
  • Players who have previously received this Award are ineligible for further nomination

Award Amount
$100 (The Trustees of the New Zealand Bridge Foundation may adjust in future years)

Award Criteria:
The Award is made to the most promising Under 21 Player based on performance during the prior Calendar Year.

Note - This Award is not based solely on Masterpoints achieved in the prior Calendar Year but also includes a subjective assessment of ability and bridge achievements made at the sole discretion of the board in consultation with the Trustees of the New Zealand Bridge Foundation

Award Process:

  • The successful nomination(s) are determined by the NZ Bridge Board in consultation with the Trustees of the New Zealand Bridge Foundation.
  • There may be more than one winner each year or it may be determined that no Award be made in any year.
  • The Jean Peche Award presentation is made by the New Zealand Bridge Foundation at the Congress Awards Function.

Funds for the Award are held and administered by the New Zealand Bridge Foundation as from April 1st 2010, following transfer of an initial amount of $1000 from NZ Bridge to re-establish a dedicated Jean Peche Award Fund.

Back to top

Our Sponsors
  • Tauranga City Council
  • tourismbop.jpeg
  • TECT.jpg
  • NZB Foundation